Professor Craig Green has taught and written in the fields of Civil Procedure, Constitutional Law, and Federal Courts; he has also taught Administrative Law and American Legal History. Other teaching interests include Conflicts of Law, Remedies, Civil Procedure II, Complex Civil Litigation, Civil and Political Rights, Reproductive Rights, First Amendment, Separation of Powers, Legislation, “New” Federalism, Constitutional History, History of American Judging, and Sentencing.  In 2009, Green received Temple Law School’s George P. Williams Award as “Outstanding Professor of the Year,” and in 2010 he received Temple University’s Lindback Award for Distinguished Teaching.

Green’s research has addressed the role of federal courts in overseeing the executive branch, and the significance of iconic cases like Erie v. Tompkins in legal discourse. He has published articles concerning wartime detention, equal protection, the federal sentencing guidelines, the economic recession of 2008, and customary international law. He has been invited to present research to the Sentencing Commission’s legal staff, as a keynote speaker at the Japanese-American Society for Legal Studies Annual Meeting in Kyoto, and as a participant in the Turkish Institute for Justice’s conference “The Balance Between Freedom and Security in Fighting against Terrorism.” In 2012, Green received Temple Law School’s Friel-Scanlan Award for Outstanding Scholarship.

Green has an active interest in appellate litigation, and has served on moot courts for Supreme Court advocates at the University of Pennsylvania’s Supreme Court Institute, the Georgetown Law Center’s Supreme Court Institute, the National Association of Attorneys General, and law firms in Washington D.C.


M.A., Princeton University
J.D., Yale Law School
B.S., Wake Forest University

Research & Teaching Areas

Areas of Expertise

Selected Publications

Publications and Media Appearances

Awards and Recognition

  • George P. Williams, III, Memorial Award for the Outstanding Professor of the Year (2009)
  • Lindback Award for Distinguished Teaching (2010)
  • Friel-Scanlan Award for Outstanding Scholarship (2012)